Designing a tech career road map.

TABLE OF CONTENT .Highlights from what I learnt .How I intend to apply those lessons . Reference

ยท

3 min read

Designing a tech career road map.

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

Good day everyone, This is my first time writing in ages, I'll make this blog more relatable than critical, so I am open for constructive criticism Thank you ๐Ÿ˜Š.

What is tech? Tech is technology. It is applying scientific knowledge in ways to help human life. Examples are; the website, social media, analysing data of companies and health institutions. Designing products, and dresses. Tech is a broad spectrum and it keeps evolving every day.

HIGHLIGHTS FROM WHAT I LEARNT FROM YEWANDE ODUMOSU As a newbie venturing into tech self-awareness is essential, One has to sit down and understand oneself. That is having to understand the big things people know and the little things you take for granted that can make me stand out.

1 Evaluate yourself. *Ask your friends and close ones what you are good at? *What motivates you? *What courses or subject resonates more with you? *What sets you apart from your circle of friends? This can show itself as solving problems, being good at on subject, negotiating very well at the market and many more, you just have to seat with yourself to discover this.

2 Identify and understand your unique skills. You can also learn some skills to improve yourself cause growing never ends.

3 In tech, your growth can take any route, it can be either linear or nonlinear. No growth in tech is easy, be it linear growth or nonlinear growth. It takes discipline, the ability to keep learning, flexibility, and showcasing yourself on different social media platforms to grow.

4 Transitioning into anything in life is not easy, it takes a lot of work to do so. You can transition by taking intro courses, having a mentor, volunteering, and joining communities.

5 This is my favorite part of the lecture, She talked about IKIGAI ( this was the first time I heard about this) IKIGAI, is a Japanese word meaning reason of being. I understood it as, how to make money doing what you love From here ~ to here.

.From here; What you love What you're good at

. To here; What you can be paid for What the world needs

( I'll share the link to the video at the end of this blog to understand it better). What I understand is you need to combine these 4 to feel satisfied as a human.

6 Differentiating yourself and getting noticed. For introverts like myself, this is not difficult as you may think. It's as simple as *Being proactive *Having good work ethics *Dressing a step higher than where you are *Being visible through your social media by updating your LinkedIn *Writing down your small and big wins *and Showing up. *You can't talk tech without networking

7 Accelerating your journey. Through Networking, Attending tech events, volunteering, working on side projects, keep learning through videos, podcasts and starting a course at Coursera, Udemy, Freecodecamp and many others.

HOW I INTEND TO APPLY THESE LESSONS.

I will begin by saying starting anything in life is not easy, I feel both excited and scared at once and It's a good feeling so I'm taking it as a good sign to start.

I will go about this by First, completing my training at ADA and when I'm done I would love to volunteer to acquire more skills to make myself stand out and to make my resume look good ( trust me it will look good on your resume ๐Ÿ˜‰).

My social media platform has to be updated and I will be sharing my little milestone on LinkedIn and Twitter because people are watching.

I will make out time to attend tech events to be visible and network with people.

I can't write all these without stressing about being disciplined and flexible cause technology changes every day.

Lastly, as humans, I will take my rest when needed and keep praying to God for grace and strength.

LINK TO THE VIDEO youtu.be/EZ6oX7HvAHA

ย